The Ruskin Glass Centre, in association with the Worshipful Company of Glass Sellers, is delighted to announce the artists for the 2017 British Glass Biennale exhibition.  Over two days an expert panel of judges chaired by Scott Benefield and comprised of Rosy Greenlees OBE, Barbara Beadman, Aonghus Gordon and Maja Heuer, selected the very best of this year’s entries, all of which achieved a very high standard.

Sixty one artists were selected out of 231 applicants to present the most interesting, diverse and outstanding glass art made in the UK in the last two years.  The work will form a cutting edge showcase of contemporary British based glass talent with £11,000 worth of awards to be won. Prize winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on 24 August at the Ruskin Glass Centre, Stourbridge.

Both established artists and emerging new talent will be on display, including work by 13 students. The selected artists have been brave and innovative, using a wide range of styles and techniques both traditional and experimental. The decision to open the submission to British artists living abroad was more than justified, with 12 entrants from France, Spain, Belgium, Hungary, Japan, Australia, Switzerland, India and the USA.

Scott Benefield commented “We had a very diverse group serving on the jury this year, and I think the pieces that we chose reflect not only the range of work that was submitted (which was quite wide) but also the differing backgrounds of the jurors. In the final round of viewing, we were very selective but everything that made it into the exhibition had its advocates who made a persuasive argument for its inclusion.

The experience left me feeling confident about the quality and breadth of contemporary glass in the UK and I think that’s going to make for a very dynamic exhibition.”



* indicates student entry


Tamsin Abbott Jonathan Michie*
Philippa Beveridge Joanne Mitchell
Heike Brachlow Linda Norris
Mim Brigham* Jochen Ott
Edmond Byrne Helen Piling*
Amanda Charles* Kate Pasvol
Keeryong Choi Anne Petters
Adele Christensen Laurie Ramsell
James Clark & Cathryn Shilling Colin Reid
Andrew Collins* Daniel Rollitt*
Jeff Cunningham Bruno Romanelli
Simon Eccles Jeffrey Sarmiento
Shirley Eccles Ruth Shelley
Rachel Elliott Cathryn Shilling & Anthony Scala
Carrie Fertig Andrea Spencer
Kate & Stephen Gillies Jones Helen Stokes*
Joseph Harrington Paul Stopler
Eugenie Henshaw* Nancy Sutcliffe
Dot Hill Ayako Tani
Charlotte Hughes-Martin Jade Tapson*
Ingrid Hunter Louis Thompson
Julie Johnson Angela Thwaites*
Monette Larsen Deborah Timperley
Lola Lazaro Hinks* Noreen Todd
Jessie Lee Andrea Walsh
James Lethbridge Clare Wilson
Anne-Marie Lowe* Emma Woffenden
Alison Lowry Jeff Zimmer
Christiaan Maas Maria Zulueta*
Allister Malcolm  
Joanna Manousis  
James Maskrey  



The Awards on offer are:

The British Glass Biennale Award – Best in Show

The Worshipful Company of Glass Sellers of London: Glass Sellers Awards and Glass Sellers Student Awards

Award for Emerging Talent – sponsored by London Glassblowing

The People’s Prize

The Young Collector’s Prize – sponsored by Mark Holford

Emerging Artist Residency Prize – sponsored by the National Glass Centre

Craft&Design Awards


The British Glass Biennale is a selling show with work ranging from the small scale to large installations.

The exhibition is open Monday to Saturday from 25 August to 9 September at the Ruskin Glass Centre, Stourbridge; the heart of the historic glass industry in the UK. The awards ceremony marks the start of the International Festival of Glass, a four day event celebrating the drama and excitement of glass.


We are grateful to all the sponsors and supporters of

the British Glass Biennale and the International Festival of Glass

Ruskin Mill Land Trust

Ruskin Mill Trust

Arts Council England

Heritage Lottery Fund

Sterling Charity

Mark Holford

London Glassblowing

Tesco’s Bags of Help

Worshipful Company of Glass Sellers

Contemporary Glass Society

National Glass Centre

Geoff Hill Charitable Trust